The Parish has an interesting history. Anyone wishing to add information here should contact the administrator in Contact Us.
Some useful information can be found in the following external link, which is a web site for genealogy research and will open in a new window:
The Domesday Book
Stoak does not have an entry and appears to be a more recent creation – it was created a civil parish in 1866 from the ancient parish of Stoke, which is still the official spelling of the parish name. There is evidence of a Saxon chapel on the site of the current St Lawrence church. More details of the church’s history can be found below and on its link in Local Community/Links.
Stoak and St Lawrence’s
There is a brief history of St Lawrence’s contained in the following: Extract from The Search for Old Wirral by Alan Brack (From an article in Cheshire Life), and also in the Stoak and Stanney document below.
The following soundtrack is a clip (duration 3:58 minutes) from a 2008 Radio Merseyside programme Hidden Gems. Wervin resident Gordon Kipps is talking to Andy Ball about Stoak and St Lawrence’s. Just click on the link to listen – use your browser’s “back” key to return.
Radio Merseyside – Hidden Gems
“Stoak and Stanney”
The following document was supplied by Roy Greenwood. Unfortunately, its provenance is unclear, although it appears to emanate from the Women’s Institute, probably in the 1960s.
Some of the historical “facts” seem to be rather dubious, especially Stoak appearing to be the centre of the area. Also, the modern spelling of Stoak probably dates from the 1930s (some proof of this is required), the current name of the parish and previous name of the village being Stoke.
Stoak and Stanney